Located at Lake Tahoe, California, Sugar Bowl Academy is a fully accredited college preparatory high school for competitive skiers. It's a world-class ski academy for Alpine, Nordic and Freeride athletes.

Sugar Bowl Academy Nordic Skier, Hannah Halvorsen Wins 2016 Junior National Sprints

Halvorsen is the 2016 U18 U.S. Junior National Sprint Champion

Norden, CA, March 11, 2016. Sugar Bowl Ski Team & Academy (SBSTA) Racing at the 2016 Cross Country Junior National Championships during the first week of March in Wisconsin, Sugar Bowl Academy Senior Hannah Halvorsen won a junior national championship title in the sprints. With the top Nordic skiers in the country descending upon WI these races offer a preview into the future of Team USA. Hannah Halvorsen claimed a Junior National title with her win in the U18 women’s skate sprint. She had pre-qualified to compete in Junior Nationals based on her qualification for the US Junior World and Scandi Cup teams. She represented her country at the U18 Scandinavian cup in Estonia and at the Lillehammer Youth Olympics last month. Head SBA coach, Martin Benes said, Though Hannah has been a little sick this week, today’s result is a testament to the training and preparation she has put in over the last year. She skied tactically smart all day before putting in a decisive performance in the final. Her fitness and speed were apparent today and she skied with a building confidence through the heats.”

Sugar Bowl Academy located in Norden CA is the country’s only ski in/ski out ski academy. Sugar Bowl Academy inspires and empowers passionate, highly motivated students, setting the stage for competitive skiers to seek and celebrate challenge with grit, grace and courage.  Sugar Bowl Academy student-athletes thrive on the dual pursuit of rigorous academics and competitive skiing in an environment that celebrates hard work and the pursuit of worthy goals. Graduates have gone on to some of the best colleges and universities in the country and many have continued their pursuit of skiing on NCAA teams at schools including Bates, Boston College, Dartmouth, Middlebury, Saint Lawrence University and the University of Colorado.