Located at Lake Tahoe, California, Sugar Bowl Academy is a fully accredited college preparatory high school for competitive skiers. It's a world-class ski academy for Alpine, Nordic and Freeride athletes.

Sugar Bowl Academy hosts Ted D. Morse, retired Senior United States Foreign Service Officer

Sugar Bowl Academy’s class, Seeking to understand extremism in the age of the Islamic State, hosted guest lecturer to discuss his experience with the Middle East unrest. Norden, CA, October 30, 2015, Sugar Bowl Ski Team & Academy (SBSTA), Retired Senior U.S. Foreign Service Officer, Ted D. Morse spoke to SBA students, who have been studying Middle Eastern geography this term, about his experiences working and living in the Muslim world. His lecture focused on the emergence of ISIL and the connections with the war in Syria. This fall, SBA geography teacher Andy Knox, offered, offered a Middle Eastern studies course that is primarily focused on Yemen and the rise of the extremist groups through out the broader region.  Morse emphasized the importance that social media has on ISIL recruitment and their ultimate sustainability. His presentation hit home with SBA senior Kathleen Smith, whose yearlong senior project explores the question, “What factors enable a terrorist group in the Middle East?” Morse’s knowledge and expertise has helped to inform a future generation of potential diplomats and policymakers.

Sugar Bowl Academy located in Norden CA is the country’s only ski in/ski out ski academy. Sugar Bowl Academy inspires and empowers passionate, highly motivated students, setting the stage for competitive skiers to seek and celebrate challenge with grit, grace and courage. Sugar Bowl Academy student-athletes thrive on the dual pursuit of rigorous academics and competitive skiing in an environment that celebrates hard work and the pursuit of worthy goals. Graduates have gone on to some of the best colleges and universities in the country and many have continued their pursuit of skiing on NCAA teams at schools like Bates, Boston College, Dartmouth, Middlebury, Saint Lawrence University and the University of Colorado.